Cleveland Elementary School Shooting

A little after 8 a.m on Monday, Jan. 29, 1979, parents in San Carlos, a pleasant suburb of the California seaside city of San Diego, started...

Heroes of the SDPD


Ted KasinakSharon Amos
Sam CaterRobert Robb

Ted Kasinak, Sharon Amos-Newberry, Sam Cater and Robert Robb were presented the Medal of Valor on the 13th Feb 1979. 

Others that received commendations from the council were: SWAT Leader Sgt James McFadden, Micheal Blakely, Dennis Christensen and David Bridgeman. 

Detective negotiators Paul Olson and Chester Thurston were also given a special commendation for their efforts in convincing her to surrender.